Events
Speaking Engagement

Handling State Tax Controversies to Win

TEI 2021 71st Virtual Midyear Conference


Online Event

Blank Rome State + Local Tax partner Craig B. Fields will serve as a panelist at the Tax Executives Institute (“TEI”) 2021 71st Virtual Midyear Conference, being held March 22 through March 25, 2021, as an online event. This year’s conference, themed “Choosing a Path Forward in a Changed World,” will bring together an outstanding cadre of instructors to examine a broad range of technical, policy, and management topics and features dedicated sessions focusing on U.S. federal, international, and state tax, as well as Canadian tax and COVID-19-related measures.

Craig’s session, “Handling State Tax Controversies to Win,” will take place from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m. EDT (2:00 to 3:00 p.m. PDT / 4:00 to 5:00 p.m. CDT).

Session Description

Resolving state tax audits effectively and efficiently can avoid tax controversies and limit tax assessments. This session will address the pros and cons of litigation, and address how various approaches taken at the return preparation, audit, and appeals stage can decrease a company’s exposure, and how to best position a company’s state tax controversies to win.

Learning Objectives

After the session, attendees will be able to limit the scope of their audits, decrease time spent working on audits, decrease exposure on audits, protect important tax positions, and reduce the need to appeal assessments.

For more information and to register, please visit the conference webpage.